2015 Estimated 3rd Quarter Tax Bills will be mailed on June 30, 2015. The estimated tax rate is $2.244 per hunderd. Payments are due on 8/1/15 and must be received by 8/10/15 to avoid interest.
Once we receive the certified rate and state aid figures, the final bills will be sent and will include 2015 4th Quarter and 2016 1st and 2nd Quarters.
The 2014 Tax Rate was $2.275 per hundred. This is the same as the rate used on the estimated bills that were mailed on June 27, 2014. The 2014 Final/2015 Preliminary Tax Bills were mailed on September 5, 2014.
Please note that our office does not send out a statement of taxes paid for the prior year. You must use your receipts or canceled checks along with your tax bill for income tax purposes.
Margaret B. Favorito, CTC - Tax Collector
Nichole M. Erdin, CTC - Deputy Tax Collector
Kim Teschlog - Principal Tax Clerk
Sue Philhower, CTC - Principal Tax Clerk
Doreen O'Malley - Clerk/Bookkeeper
609-597-1000 Ext. 8551
The Tax Collector is responsible for the billing, collection, reporting and enforcement of taxes. Tax bills are normally mailed in June or July each year. They have the third and fourth quarters of the current year and the first and second quarters of the next year. The tax bill contains the portion of taxes that we collect for the schools and county as well as the municipal taxes.
Property taxes are due on February 1, May 1, August 1, and November 1. Failure to receive a tax bill does not exempt you from paying taxes or the interest due on delinquent taxes. The governing body has granted a ten day grace period on each quarter. Therefore, payments must be received in our office on or before the 10th. When the 10th falls on a weekend or legal holiday, the grace period is extended to the next business day.
The Tax Collector is a statutory officer of the State of New Jersey and is obligated to comply with all State Statutes regarding property tax collection including billing, due dates, interest on delinquent tax payments and tax sale procedures.
The Tax Collector is responsible for the billing and collection of taxes. The Tax Assessor is responsible for establishing the taxable value of your property. If you have any questions regarding the assessed value of your property please contact the Tax Assessor’s Office, 609-597-1000 extension 8546 or by email at email@example.com.
Property owners may file an appeal if they want to dispute the assessed value of their property. Appeals must be filed by April 1st of the current year with the County Board of Taxation. Appeals for added or omitted assessments must be filed by December 1st of the current year. Appeal forms and information is available from The Ocean County Board of Taxation, Ocean County Courthouse, located at the corner of Washington Street and Hooper Avenue in Toms River. You may call the office of the Board of Taxation at 732-929-2008.
Interest Charged on Unpaid Taxes
Any taxes remaining unpaid after the 10th of February, May, August and November are subject to interest at the rate of 8% per year for delinquencies up to $1,500.00 and 18% per year for delinquencies over $1,500.00. Please note that once a delinquency reaches the 18% threshold the account must be paid up to date before interest reverts back to 8%. Any account with a current year delinquency together with accrued interest totaling $10,000.00 or more on December 31st is subject to an additional 6% year end penalty. Call the Tax Collector at 609-597-1000 extension 8551 to determine the correct amount of interest to submit with any delinquent tax payment prior to sending the payment.
Any tax delinquency for the current year remaining delinquent on November 11th will be subject to tax sale. The tax sale includes delinquent taxes as well as delinquent water and sewer charges as dictated by New Jersey statutes. When a property is included in the tax sale, a lien is sold for the amount of the eligible municipal charges together with interest to the date of the tax sale and costs of sale. Interest rates for liens sold may be as high as 18%. Depending on the amount of the lien sold there are additional penalties of 2%, 4% or 6% charged. The lien holder, under certain circumstances, may also be entitled to legal fees as well. Lien holders may pay any subsequent tax or water and sewer charges and add these charges to the original lien. Interest accrues on the original lien as well as any subsequent charges paid by the lien holder. The sale of a tax lien on a property does not give the purchaser of the certificate any rights of ownership or to trespass on the property. This is acquired by the foreclosure process. A lien holder may begin to foreclose on the property two years after the purchase of the tax sale certificate. If the certificate was not purchased by an outside lien buyer at the tax sale, the Township would be the lien holder and may begin the foreclosure process in as little as six months from the tax sale date.
Click here for Redemption Request Form - Redemptions are calculated in the order they are received and there is a 3-day turn-around for all requests. Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 54:5-54, only a person with legal interest in a property can redeem a Tax Sale Certificate. This form must be completed to obtain redemption figures. Once a lien is redeemed, the canceled certificate will be sent to the redeeming party who must then have the cancellation recorded with the Ocean County Clerk's Office.
PLEASE NOTE: Change of address must be in writing signed by the property owner. Changing your mailing address for taxes will also change your mailing address for water and sewer bills.
Mail change of address to 260 East Bay Avenue, Manahawkin, NJ 08050 OR fax to us at (609) 242-8221